CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS - 2018 Dissertation Award
Please find details in both:  ENGLISH  and   FRANCAIS

CPES Thesis and Dissertation Awards


2017 Ryan van den Berg, M.A.  (UBC, supervisor: Claudia Ruitenberg)
Thesis title: Canadian civic education, deliberative democracy, and dissent

2016 James Bigari, Ph.D. (UBC, co-supervisors: Daniel Vokey and Claudia Ruitenberg)
Dissertation title: The relationship of education for autonomy and education for morality: Implications for debates over educational aims

2015 Jessie Lauren Beier, M.Ed. (UofA, supervisor: Jason Wallin)
Thesis title: Schizophrenizing the art encounter: Toward a politics of dehabituation

2014 Iris Berger, Ed.D. (UBC, supervisor: Mona Gleason)
Dissertation title: Narration-as-action: The potential of pedagogical narration for leadership enactment in early childhood education contexts

2014 Michael McGarry, Ph.D. (OISE/UofT, supervisor: Jamie-Lynn Magnusson)
Dissertation title: “To read, write, and cast accounts”: Foucault, governmentality, and education in Upper Canada/Canada West

2013 Christopher Arthur, M.A. (OISE/UofT, supervisor: Trevor Norris)
Thesis title: Financial literacy: Neoliberalism, the consumer and the citizen

CPES Distinguished Service Award

Criteria for the Award

The CPES seeks nominations of candidates for its Distinguished Service Award. To be eligible, a candidate must have made important contributions in teaching, research, and professional service to philosophy of education in Canada over an extended period of time. The nomination, made a member of CPES, must include a letter of recommendation, no fewer than three letters of support, and a current CV of the person nominated. Nominations should be sent to the CPES president by April 1 of the year in which it is proposed the award be granted. The award will not necessarily be given each year. The awards committee is chaired by the recent past president and two members appointed by the executive.


L to R: CPES Past President Douglas Simpson; CPES Past President and 2016 Distinguished Service Award winner Michelle Forrest; 2013 Distinguished Service Award winner Sandra Bruneau; 2002 Distinguished Service Award winner Don Cochrane; CSSE Past President Yvonne Hébert.

Michelle Forrest, Mount Saint Vincent University
2015 Walter Okshevsky, Memorial University
2014 Daniel Vokey, University of British Columbia
2013 Sandra Bruneau, Association of BC Deans of Education
2012 Paul O'Leary, University of Western Ontario, and Douglas Stewart, University of Regina
2004 William Hare, Mount St. Vincent University
2002 Don Cochrane, University of Saskatchewan
2001 Murray Elliott, University of British Columbia